Charity's Blog

Life Lessons

Choose to be Happy!

7 Comments


I want to begin by saying, “Choose to be Happy!” There is so much going on in our world, and as recently with the COVID-19 virus. I am speaking from my heart and soul, and our society does not look good in the way that it is going. I choose to focus on happiness, my well-being, my family, and friends. It will not happen overnight, and you must work at it like you would in training for the Olympics. That being said, the following are some of the ways I participate in creating my happy state of being.

Fun activity: Whether it is outdoors or indoors, from working in the garden to hosting a BBQ with family and friends, find an activity that will spark excitement for you or your family. Why not create an oasis of flowers or growing your ingredients directly from your backyard? The possibilities are endless.

undefined

Adult Coloring: I discovered this a couple of years back. It is impressive of the number of adult coloring books there are just waiting for you to explore, even adult coloring apps for your computer. I personally like coloring Mandalas, Exotic Animals, and Landscapes. It is whatever strikes your fancy.

Online Karaoke: If anyone would have told me that there was such a thing as online Karaoke. I would probably give them a weird look as though they are from Mars! It is real, and it does exist. I, for one, sing online, it is true! My favorite is Smule, check it out! Of course, there are others; SingSnap and YouTube, to name a few. I advise you to start exploring and find your singing voice and the best thing, it is for fun!

undefined

Crocheting: I learned to crochet when I was in junior high school in a home economics class. I acquired the basics at that time, but I did not pick it up again until years later. It was in 2016 I suffered a torn meniscus, the cushion between the knee and the joint, it popped, and the pain was excruciating, and I needed surgery. I was in the house after the procedure recovering, and I needed something to do. I remember watching the news when I saw a new movement, The Pussyhat Project, about woman’s rights. It was at that moment that I told my husband about it and I wanted to make the pink pooty hat. I could not find myself to say the word. Instead, I called it a “pooty hat.”

Reading books/ Audible books: When was the last time you read a book? Or listened to an audible book?  Or used your Kindle? If it has been a while, there are options to get you back to the swing of things. My best to date for me is listening to audible books if you are on the go and do not have time to sit and read. Why not listen to a book, it is very satisfying. There are many options available to research and find what is suitable for you.

There you have it, my happy activities and needless to say, I continue to explore. I hope you will too.

Author: charity1958

I am a writer at heart. My love for writing was discovered back in 2009. I truly believe that it is never too late to discover your passion. I am originally from the Bronx of New York and presently reside​ in Kissimmee, Florida since 1994. My interest is vast with a multitude of ideas. I look forward to writing about them and I hope you will join me as I express my views, ideas, and passion for life.

7 thoughts on “Choose to be Happy!

  1. Happiness is a choice

    Like

  2. Happiness is definitely a personal responsibility. I really love crocheting it’s so calming.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, it is a choice. Beautiful post. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great reading yourr blog

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment